Press Release - Alternative Arrangements for the 2020 Graduating Cohort

News details
  • Publish date:06 Apr 2020



JOINT MEDIA STATEMENT

Alternative Arrangements for the 2020 Graduating Cohort

Singapore, 6 April 2020 – The five polytechnics and the Institute of Technical Education (ITE) have been closely monitoring the evolving Covid-19 situation. We have put in place the necessary precautions to ensure the well-being of our students and staff, and will continue to align these measures with the national posture. This is why in line with the Government’s heightened safe distancing measures, the polytechnics and ITE have now made the difficult decision to cancel this year’s graduation ceremonies, originally scheduled to take place in May and July 2020. The cancellation will affect some 26,000 graduands from the five polytechnics and 6,500 graduands from ITE.

Graduation ceremonies are milestone events, and it is with a heavy heart that we have now had to make a decision that will understandably disappoint our graduands, their families and lecturers. We recognise the accomplishments of our graduates, and institutions will be making arrangements for diplomas/certificates and transcripts to be delivered to our graduands. 

Given the challenging situation we are in, we trust that everyone concerned will understand that we decided this in the best interests of our students, their families and the community.

END –

Issued by Temasek Polytechnic on behalf of the polytechnics and ITE:

Ms Sasha Fong
Corporate Communications
Tel: 6780 6974 / 9743 1175
Email: sashaf@tp.edu.sg

Other Media Contacts: 
Nanyang Polytechnic
Mr Chung Wen Hua
Communication & Outreach
Tel: 6550 0234 / 9833 7677
Email: chung_wen_hua@nyp.edu.sg
Ngee Ann Polytechnic
Ms Sarah Lim 
Corporate Communications Office
Tel: 6460 7353/ 9684 4196
Email: sarah_lim@np.edu.sg
Republic Polytechnic
Mr Patrick Seng / Mr Julian Soh
Office of Corporate Communications
Tel: 9767 6701 / 9018 0719
Email: patrick_seng@rp.edu.sg /  julian_soh@rp.edu.sg
Singapore Polytechnic 
Mr Frank Chua / Mr Mitch Teo
Department of Communications
Tel: 9771 7871 / 9151 2232
Email: frank_chua@sp.edu.sg /  mitch_teo@sp.edu.sg
Institute of Technical Education
Mr Jailani Nathan
Corporate & Media Relations
Tel: 6590 2025 / 9871 8009
Email: Jailani_Nathan@ite.edu.sg